Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Do Not Embarrass Us!

It is difficult to expect much from a congressperson these days, so I keep my expectations very low; yet, in this congress, even those lowest hopes are no longer met. My simplest hope was that Congress would not embarrass us!
by Charlie Leck

My post on Facebook this morning was short and sweet. It was a quotation from the poet, e.e. cummings…

“a politician is an arse upon
which everyone has sat except a man”

Know that an arse is defined by as…
arse or ass
   1. the buttocks
   2. the anus
   3. a stupid person; fool
   4. sexual intercourse
   5. effrontery; cheek

“get one’s arse into gear…” …to start to do something seriously and quickly
The same dictionary reference, under its “word origin and history” reminds us also of the expression first attested in the 1530s…
arsy-versy or “backside foremost”

Today’s Congress, I would therefore proclaim, is acting very arsy-versy!

How can one say any but stupid things about this Congress? It is such an embarrassment.

e pluribus unum
(the Roman poet, Virgil)

“one out of many”

The entire Congress should be formally censured. Under such a procedure all the representatives of Congress would be lined up in front of the entirety of the American people as a formal condem-nation of their actions and behavior is read aloud. Then it should be demanded that, because of this censure, none of the congressional representatives be allowed to run for federal office again.

The Tea Party Congresspersons…
Here’s a list of the representatives and senators in Congress who have, in one way or another, indicated they are members of the Tea Party movement. These are the folks who are mainly responsible for the shutdown of our government.

Representative Sandy Adams, Florida
Representative Robert Aderholt, Alabama
Representative Rodney Alexander, Louisiana
Representative Justin Amash, Michigan
Representative Michele Bachmann, Minnesota
Representative Joe Barton, Texas
Representative Kerry Bentivolio, Michigan
Representative Gus Bilirakis, Florida
Representative Rob Bishop, Utah
Representative Diane Black, Tennessee
Representative Paul Broun, Georgia
Representative Michael Burgess, Texas
Senator Richard Burr, North Carolina
Representative Dan Burton, Indiana
Representative Quico Canseco, Texas
Representative Eric Cantor, Virginia
Representative John Carter, Texas
Representative Bill Cassidy, Louisiana
Representative Jason Chaffetz, Utah
Representative Howard Coble, North Carolina
Senator Tom Coburn, Oklahoma
Representative Ander Crenshaw, Florida
Senator Ted Cruz, Texas
Representative John Culberson, Texas
Representative Jeff Denham, California
Representative Charlie Dent, Pennsylvania
Representative Scott DesJarlais, Tennessee
Representative Jeff Duncan, South Carolina
Representative Blake Farenthold, Texas
Representative Stephen Fincher, Tennessee
Representative John Fleming, Louisiana
Representative Virginia Foxx, North Carolina
Representative Trent Franks, Arizona
Representative Cory Gardner, Colorado
Representative Phil Gingrey, Georgia
Representative Louie Gohmert, Texas
Representative Paul Gosar, Arizona
Representative Trey Gowdy, South Carolina
Representative Ralph Hall, Texas
Representative Andrew Harris, Maryland
Representative Vicky Hartzler, Missouri
Representative Tim Huelskamp, Kansas
Representative Randy Hultgren, Illinois
Representative Lynn Jenkins, Kansas
Representative Mike Kelly, Pennsylvania
Representative Steve King, Iowa
Representative Raúl R. Labrador, Idaho
Representative Doug Lamborn, Colorado
Representative James Lankford, Oklahoma
Senator Mike Lee, Utah
Representative Billy Long, Missouri
Representative Blaine Luetkemeyer, Missouri
Representative Cynthia Lummis, Wyoming
Representative Thomas Massie, Kentucky
Representative Kenny Marchant, Texas
Representative Tom McClintock, California
Representative David McKinley, West Virginia
Representative Patrick Meehan, Pennsylvania
Representative Gary Miller, California
Senator Jerry Moran, Kansas
Representative Mick Mulvaney, South Carolina
Representative Randy Neugebauer, Texas
Representative Rich Nugent, Florida
Representative Steven Palazzo, Mississippi
Senator Rand Paul, Kentucky
Representative Ron Paul, Texas
Representative Ted Poe, Texas
Representative Tom Price, Georgia
Representative Rich Nugent, Florida
Representative Trey Radel, Florida
Representative Phil Roe, Tennessee
Representative Dennis Ross, Florida
Representative Ed Royce, California
Representative Matt Salmon, Arizona
Representative Mark Sanford, South Carolina
Representative Steve Scalise, Louisiana
Representative David Schweikert, Arizona
Senator Tim Scott, South Carolina
Representative Pete Sessions, Texas
Representative Adrian Smith, Nebraska
Representative Lamar Smith, Texas
Representative Steve Southerland, Florida
Representative Cliff Stearns, Florida
Senator Pat Toomey, Pennsylvania
Representative David Vitter, Louisiana
Representative Tim Walberg, Michigan
Representative Lynn Westmoreland, Georgia
Representative Joe Wilson, South Carolina
Representative Ted Yoho, Florida
Representative Todd Young, Indiana

Why not become a follower?
If you read my blog regularly, why not become a follower? All you have to do is click in the upper right hand corner and establish a simple means of communication. Then you'll be informed every time a new blog is posted here. If all that's confusing, here's Google's explanation of how to do it! If you don’t want to post comments on the blog, but would like to communicate with me about it, send me an email if you’d like.

No comments:

Post a Comment